History of Hunter Football

In their first year of competition, Hunter's Football team was held winless but turned their fortunes around the following year and made it to the "turf."  Since then, Hunter's football team has had repeated success rushing forward with their run-first offense which, as a result, has given Hunter the nickname of "Tail Back High."  In 2003, Hunter's football team won their first State Championship.  At the end of the 2014 season, Hunter's overall record was 173-104 and had only six times finished a season under .500.  Hunter has won 10 Region Championships 1991, 1996, 1997, 1998, 2003, 2007, 2009, 2012, 2013 and 2014.  Hunter has made the play-offs every year since 1991.  The Proud tradition continues as we march onward and upward in pursuit of the best.


On September 19, 2008, the Hunter High football stadium was named 'Ed Mayne Stadium' after the late Senator Ed Mayne for all his support in getting lights for the stadium as well as for other athletics in the school.


Ed Mayne Stadium

"It is during our darkest moments that we must focus to see the light." - Aristotle



Add yourself to our News Letter today!